
Click here, for a more inclusive list of 
benefits offered by the State of Utah  

For all of your benefit questions,  
AskHR or call the ERIC at 801.957.9380

Voluntary Benefits & Discount Programs
Mental Wellness Leave 
Benefit eligible employees receive four hours of administrative leave each fiscal year to  
help meet the mental health needs of state employees.

Employee Discount Programs 
A variety of vendors offer state employee special discounts on products and services. These can be found on the Employee  
Gateway.  PEHPplus provides savings on various healthy lifestyle products and services to PEHP Members and their   
dependents.  They frequently add new discounts, categories, and vendors to this program, so check back often. 

Pet Insurance 
With pet insurance you can choose the level of care you want for when your pet is hurt or sick.  
CLICK HERE to see options for coverage. 

Home & Auto Insurance 
Farmers and Liberty Mutual both offer discounts and payroll deduction to state employees on home and  
auto insurance.  For further details about coverage options and premiums please contact them directly.  
CLICK HERE for contact information

Short Term Disability 
Optional voluntary benefit designed to pay a portion of an employee’s salary should they be unable 
to work due to a non-occupational illness or injury. 
CLICK HERE for more information

Legal Plans 
When you enroll in the MetLife Group Legal Plan, you will receive legal representation or advice for a  
wide range of legal matters such as preparing a will, family law or other unexpected legal matters.

Tuition Reimbursement 
The state of Utah values its highly skilled and highly educated workforce and encourages the ongoing   
development of its employees. Some state of Utah departments offer tuition assistance and others have  
internal training programs to facilitate professional development.  Ask  your HR team for more information.

Voluntary Benefits At-a-Glance 

Leave Benefits
Annual Leave: 104 hours per year 
Annual leave is accrued based on years of service and prorated if working part-time.
	 Less than 5 years = 4 hours accrual per pay period
	 At least 5 and less than 10 years = 5 hours accrual per pay period
	 At least 10 and less than 20 years = 6 hours accrual per pay period
	 20 years or more = 7 hours accrual per pay period
Sick Leave: 104 hours per year 
Sick leave is accrued based on the number of hours worked in the pay period and accrues at a maximum of four (4) hours per 
pay period.
Bereavement Leave 
Management may grant at least three work days of bereavement leave with pay, for each occurrence of death in accordance 
with DHRM rule R477-7-9.  Leave must be coordinated with the employee’s supervisor.

https://dhrm.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/Benefits-at-a-Glance.pdf
https://gateway.utah.gov/contact/askhr
https://gateway.utah.gov/employment/employee-discount-programs
https://gateway.utah.gov/employment/employee-discount-programs
https://www.pehp.org/pehpplus
https://www.pehp.org/pehpplus/petinsurance
https://gateway.utah.gov/benefits/home-auto-insurance
https://gateway.utah.gov/benefits/the-standard-stdi-voluntary-short-term-disability-insurance
https://gateway.utah.gov/benefits/metlife-legal

