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Welcome to the
Public Employees Noncontributory
Retirement System!
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Utah Retirement Systems

The

Retirement System is a defined
benefit retirement plan under
Utah Retirement Systems (URS)
intended to provide a meaningful
retirement benefit to the employees
who have chosen a career

in public service. It is a qualified
tax-deferred plan under Internal
Revenue Code Section 401(a).
The laws that govern this
retirement system are set forth

in Utah Code Title 49.
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

Membership Eligibility

You qualify for membership if:

» You are hired to perform services for an
employer who participates in this system and
initially began full-time employment prior to
July 1,2011;

And one of the following:

» Your employment, contemplated to continue
during a fiscal or calendar year, normally
requires an average of 20 hours or more
per week and you receive benefits normally
provided by your employer as approved by
the Retirement Board.

» You are a teacher who teaches half-time
or more and you receive benefits normally
provided by your employer as approved by
the Retirement Board.

» You are an elected or appointed* official who
earns the minimum salary required by law each
month during the term of office. The minimum
salary is typically increased yearly by the
Consumer Price Index. The amount as of
Feb. 1,2016, is $1005.

» You are in a probationary status and meet
eligibility requirements.

» You perform services through an employee
leasing or similar arrangement and you meet
eligibility requirements.

Note: A transfer between systems requires
certification in the system in which your employer
participates and that eligibility requirements are met.

*Appointed officials are employees appointed to a position for a
definite and fixed term of office, and the position is recorded in the
employer’s charter, creation document, or similar document.

Retirement System Highlights

Certification of Eligibility

At the time you are hired, elected, or appointed,
your employer will certify your status with Utah
Retirement Systems.

Exempting from Coverage

If you choose to exempt from retirement
coverage, you must contact your employer
immediately. See section marked Employees
who may exempt from retirement coverage
on page 4.

Post-Retirement Employment

If you are retired from URS, you must notify
your employer and complete a Post-Retirement
Employment Form (see section marked Returning
to work after retirement on page 23 of this
brochure).

Exception to immediate certification
and coverage:

» Temporary (not probationary) and seasonal
employees when the job is scheduled to be
completed in six months or less.

Employees who are not eligible
for service credit with URS:

» Exchange employees from outside the state;

» Employees of the Department of Workforce
Services who are covered under another
retirement system;

» Employees of a two-year or four-year college
or university who hold a retirement annuity
contract with TIAA during any period when
required contributions based on compensation
are paid on behalf of employees by their
employers;

» Employees who currently work fewer than
20 hours per week; or who no longer receive
benefits provided by their employers.
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory Retirement System Highlights

Employees who may exempt » At-will employees who are:
from retirement coverage: . . s
> om retirement coverage —Appointed as city managers or chief city =
o » Full-time students or their spouses; administrators )
H » Persons employed in a trainee relationship; —Employed by municipalities, counties, =
= - Lo =z
= » Elected and appointed positions under or other political subdivisions who are o
° Utah Code Ann. § 67-22-2; included in an Employee Exemption Plan &
= developed by the municipality, county, or =
= » Elected officials; eloped by the pality. Y =
z political subdivision; =
Z‘_'; ” 8th£rcst3te:fﬂcers ;ncizmglc;)éze; L'mder » Employees of an interlocal cooperative §
= tah Code Ann. § 49-12 & 13-203(2); agency under Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal i
» Employees of the following: Cooperation Act that includes:
—The Governor’s Office —Persons engaged in a specialized trade

customarily provided through membership
in a labor organization that provides
retirement benefits to its members.

—The Governor’s Office of Planning
and Budget

—The Governor’s Office of Economic

Development In all cases, an exemption form must be filed

with our office before the date of exemption.
—The Commission on Criminal and

Juvenile Justice

—The State Auditor’s Office

Defined Benefit Annual
Retirement Statement

—The State Treasurer's Office; i .
» Members of the following: URS Defined Benefit (pension) Annual Retirement
Statements reflect salary, service credit, and

—The State Tax C issi
€ otate laxt-ommission designated benéeficiaries. If applicable, they also

—The Public Service Commission include member contributions transferred from
—A full-time or part-time board previous membership in any Utah Retirement
or commission; System. Statements are mailed to your home

address and are also available online. Go to
www.urs.org and log in to myURS.

)

~

Legislative employees:
—Appointed under § 36-12-7 (3)(a), or

—Appointed by the Speaker or the Minority Refu nds
Leader of the House of Representatives, Or ciiiii i i ittt te it .
the President or the Minority Leader

If you terminate all URS-covered employment
of the Senate;

you may request a refund of your member
» Senior staff of the Utah Science Technology contributions, if applicable.

and Research Institute; If you elect to take a refund, you forfeit

contributory service credit for the periods covered
by your member contributions.
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

Your refund will be processed after 60 days
from the last date of the pay period for which
contributions were paid.

You are not eligible for a refund under
the following conditions:

» You transfer from one participating employer
under URS to another.

)

v

You terminate your employment with

one participating employer and you are
subsequently rehired by the same or a different
participating employer, even though there may
be a break in service.

)

-

You terminate employment, apply for a refund,
and subsequently accept employment with
another participating employer before the
disbursement of your refund payment.

)

v

You are officially exempted from retirement
coverage through URS.

)

v

You become ineligible for retirement coverage.
This includes:

—Employees whose hours drop below an
average of 20 per week,

—Employees who do not receive an employer’s
normal benefits, and

—Teachers whose hours drop below teaching
half-time.

If you have exempted from retirement coverage
or you become ineligible for service credit, you may
request a direct rollover of member contributions, if
applicable, to a qualified defined contribution plan.

» You are receiving or have applied for long-term
disability benefits through an agency that has a
benefit protection contract with our office.

» You are on a leave of absence from any position
covered by this system.

Retirement System Highlights

A Word of Caution — refunds are subject to:

—A 20% federal income tax withholding
on the eligible portion of your distribution,
unless you make a direct rollover to a 401(k)
or other eligible plan.

—Utah state income tax.

—Possible taxes of the state where you reside
if other than Utah.

—A 10% early withdrawal penalty if taken
before age 59Y2.

The 10% early withdrawal penalty may not
apply if you work into or beyond the year you
reach age 55 or if you are a qualified public
safety employee, age 50. A qualified public safety
employee provides police protection, firefighting
or emergency medical services within the
jurisdiction of the employing state or political
subdivision.

Note: You do not lose service credit if you
withdraw your URS Savings Plans (401(k), 457,
IRAs) balances. For more information regarding the
401(k) plan, 457 plan, and IRAs please see the section
marked URS Savings Plans.

Reinstating Withdrawn
Contributions

As long as you have an existing record of
eligible, nonforfeited, service credit with our office,
you or your employer may reinstate eligible service
you previously withdrew. The cost to reinstate
your account is the amount you withdrew plus
interest from the date of withdrawal to the date
of repayment. The entire amount of withdrawn
contributions plus interest may be paid in a lump-
sum or by installment payments through payroll
deduction. The reinstatement must be completed
before your retirement date. Reinstating eligible
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

service may qualify you for an earlier retirement
and/or increase your monthly benefit.

See the section marked Payment Options
(page 11) for reinstating withdrawn contributions.

Service Purchase

If you are an active member and have an
existing record of four or more years of eligible
service credit with our office, and the service credit
you intend to purchase has been forfeited under
any other retirement system or plan, you or your
employer may purchase the following:
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» Active full-time United States military service if
it does not otherwise qualify for service credit
under a system administered by URS.

OR

» Any portion of the following qualified service if
the service has been forfeited under any other
retirement system or plan. This includes:

1.) Forfeited United States federal employment,

2.) Forfeited private school employment based
in the United States, if you received an
employer-paid retirement benefit for the
employment,

3.

[

Forfeited public employment in another
state or territory of the United States
that qualified you for membership in
the public plan or system covering the
employment,

4.) Forfeited public service in this state,

5.) Full-time public employment while
on an approved leave of absence,

6.) Exempt service,

7.) Utah service that does not meet eligibility
requirements, but the hours worked were
at least 20 or more hours per week,

Retirement System Highlights

8.) Worker's compensation, long-term and
short-term disability benefit periods
for which you were paid and no benefit
protection contract existed,

9.) Employment covered by the Teachers
Insurance and Annuity Association of
America (TIAA) retirement plan if you forfeit
any retirement benefit from that plan for
the period of employment to be purchased,
or

10.) Forfeited Utah Charter School employment.

The purchase must be credited to the system
under which you are currently covered and be
completed before your retirement date set with
our office.

To qualify for a purchase, service credit you
earned in other public employment outside of URS
coverage must meet the minimum qualifications
of the system you're in at the time of purchase.
Under this system, a minimum of 20 hours of work
per week is required or you must be a half-time
teacher.

For detailed information on the types of service
you may purchase, refer to the Purchasing Service
Credit brochure. See Payment Options for making
a purchase.

Purchasing Future
Service Credit

To purchase future service you must be an
active member and have an existing record of five
years of eligible service credit with URS, if you're
age 65; or you must be an active member and
have a minimum of 25 years of eligible service.
You (or jointly with your employer) may purchase
up to five years, even if it exceeds the years you
need to retire with an unreduced retirement
benefit (meaning no early age reduction). At a
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory Retirement System Highlights

Your employer’s long-term disability (LTD)
program describes your benefits. If your employer
has a benefit protection contract with our office
and you have been approved for LTD benefits,
you will continue to accrue service credit while

minimum, the number of years of service credit All payments must be received before your

you buy must be enough to allow you to retire date of retirement set with our office.
> . . —
S W'thOlit an early age reduction. You must pay at For specific information about purchases, >
E least 5% of the total cost and retire immediately contact our Defined Benefit Retirement =
= afteryour purchase. Your employer may pay up Department at 801-366-7770 or 800-695-4877. 2
= t0 95%. (See the Purchasing Future Service Credit S
o : .

brochure for more information. . T . o
g ) Disability Benefits S
S L e e =
ml Payment Options o

=

] o
= <

You may reinstate eligible service you
previously withdrew or purchase service according
to one of the following options:

1.) Lump-sum payment made any time before receiving LTD benefits until you retire through URS
your effective date of retirement set with our or qualify for an unreduced retirement benefit.
office.

» Future service credit in total (your payment, Death Benefits for
rollovers, and any employer payment) must Non-Retired Members
be received within 15 days before YOUI e .
retirement date and no later than the day The financial settlement your beneficiary(ies)
before your retirement date. will receive when you die is determined by your

2.) Payroll deduction (with your employer’s status in this system and, if applicable, in the
approval) must be completed before your Contributory System before your transfer, with
effective date of retirement and within the following possibilities:

60 months of your first payment.
Y pay Career Benefit

» Payroll deduction is not available for future

. . If you are a non-retired career employee and
service credit purchases. y ploy

die before retiring and you have been married

3.) Direct rollover you arrange from your 401(k) at least six months immediately preceding your
or other qualified plan, or from.an eligible plan death, your spouse is eligible for a monthly benefit
such as a 403(b), 457, or conduit IRA. if you meet one of the following requirements:

4) Paymgnt made by your employer must 1.) You qualify for a service retirement under the
be received by our office no later than the day Noncontributory System at the time of death.

before your retirement date. ) .
2.) You have 20-24 years of service credit and you

» Employer is limited to 95% of the cost of are not age 60 or older at the time of death,

a future service credit purchase. Total your spouse will receive a reduced benefit.
payment must be received within 15 days

before your retirement date and no later
than the day before your retirement date.

3.) You have 15-19 years of service credit and you
are not age 62 or older at the time of death,
your spouse will receive a reduced benefit.

10 1
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

If you transferred from the Contributory to
the Noncontributory System, service from both
systems is used to determine if your spouse is
eligible for a career benefit. If your spouse is also
the designated beneficiary, he or she will be
required to select the option of a lifetime monthly
benefit or a refund of your member contributions.

However, if your spouse qualifies for a career
benefit and is not the designated beneficiary,
the lifetime monthly benefit is the only amount
payable to your spouse. If your spouse does not
elect to receive the monthly benefit, your member
contributions will be paid to the designated
beneficiary(ies).

In order for the career benefit to be effective
the first day of the month following the month
of your death (the benefit effective date), your
spouse must file an application with our office
within 90 days of your death. If the application
is received 90 days after the date of death, the
benefit effective date will be the first day of
the month, following the month, in which the
application is received.

Lump-Sum Settlement

If you transferred from the Contributory to
the Noncontributory System and your spouse
does not qualify for a career benefit, your
beneficiary(ies) will receive a refund of your
member contributions.

Death Benefit

If you are a non-retired member who is
employed by a participating employer at the time
of your death, your beneficiary(ies) will receive a
death benefit representing 75% of your highest
annual salary. If you have less than 12 months'’
service, the benefit is prorated. The minimum
payment is $1,000.

12
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If you are a non-retired member who hasn't
worked for a participating employer for 120 days
or more since termination, you have 10 or more
years of credited service before July 1, 1987, and
you did not withdraw your member contributions,
your beneficiary(ies) will receive a death benefit
representing 75% of your highest annual salary.

Note: The payment is not payable if the covered
member commits suicide before group coverage has
been in force for two yeatrs.

Accelerated Death Benefit

This provision allows you to take an advance
payment of 75% of your death benefit if you have
a terminal illness and a life expectancy under
18 months.

Note: After your death, any money in your URS
Savings Plans (401(k), 457, IRAs) will be payable to
your beneficiary(ies).

Beneficiaries Before Retirement
You may name whomever you choose as

beneficiary(ies) for the death benefit. You may also

name whomever you choose as beneficiary(ies) for

member contributions and for the savings plans,

if applicable.

You may change your beneficiary(ies) at
any time by logging into your account at
www.urs.org under the myURS login. When
updating your beneficiary(ies), you revoke all
previous designations. Forms are also available
from our office or at www.urs.org.

13

=
m
=
-
=
o
=
n
o
=)
~+
=
(<2
=
~+
o
=
<




>
S
o
-
S
el
=
-
c
o
v
[=
o
P
-
S
v
i

2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

Beneficiaries After Retirement

If you select Option One, your beneficiary(ies)
receive(s) no monthly benefit or refund of member
contributions (if applicable) unless death occurs
within 90 days after your retirement date.

If you select Option Two, you may name
whomever you choose as beneficiary(ies)
to receive the remaining balance of member
contributions (if applicable) upon your death.

You may change your beneficiary(ies) any
time, by logging into your myURS account at
WWWw.urs.org or you may request a form by
contacting our office. When updating your
beneficiary designations, you revoke all previous
designations.

If you select Options Three, Four, Five, or
Six, your spouse at the time of retirement is
designated as your beneficiary. This beneficiary
cannot be changed.

If retiree life insurance is selected at the time of
retirement for you and/or your spouse, you may
name whomever you wish as beneficiary(ies).

Beneficiaries for member life insurance can be
changed by logging into your myURS account
at www.urs.org. A Beneficiary Designation form
must be completed when updating spouse
beneficiaries. Forms are available by contacting
our office. When updating your beneficiary
designations, you revoke all previous designations.

Beneficiary designations should be kept
current and on file in our office at all times. Forms
for claiming benéefits are sent to the last known
address of the beneficiary(ies).

14
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Retirement Qualifications
You qualify for a monthly retirement benefit if
you are:

—65 with 4 years of service.
—62 with 10 years of service.
—60 with 20 years of service.

—Any age with 25 years of service
with full actuarial age reduction.

—Any age with 30 years of service.

If you have fewer than 30 years of service from
any combination of Utah Retirement Systems,
retiring before age 65 reduces your monthly
benefit approximately 7% for every year under age
60 and 3% for each year between ages 60 and 65.

Benefit Formula

Your monthly retirement benefit is determined
by your age, years of actual service credit, final
average monthly salary, and the benefit formula.
To estimate your monthly retirement benefit
under Option One, follow the steps below or go
to www.urs.org and use the Retirement Benefit
Estimate Calculator.

1.) TOTAL your three
highest years of salary* $

2.) DIVIDE line 1 by 36, this is your
final average monthly salary $

3.) MULTIPLY your years
of service by 2% (.02)

4.) MULTIPLY line 2 by
line 3 for your TOTAL $

5.) ADJUSTED AMOUNT after
any early retirement reduction ~ $

*If any one of the years used exceeds the previous year’s salary
by more than 10%, plus a cost-of-living adjustment determined
by the consumer price index, the year(s) in question will be limited.

15
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

Options that provide a survivor’s benefit
reduce your benefit. (See the section marked Six
Retirement Options.)

Service in Other
Utah Retirement Systems

If you were employed in more than one Utah
Retirement System or URS Retirement Plan and
the service is not concurrent, you may combine
your service credits to determine your eligibility
to retire from the system you are in at the time
of your retirement. The service you render in any
one year cannot count for more than one year of
qualifying service credit. Your benefit is computed
using the service from the system in which you
currently participate plus the transferred service
which is increased or decreased to reflect the
value of the assets transferred.

Steps to Retirement

Get an Estimate

Before making the decision to retire, you can
compute an estimate of your potential benefit by
going to www.urs.org and using the Retirement
Benefit Estimate Calculator. Contact our office for
a URS-generated estimate if you're planning to
retire in the next 12 months.

Once You Decide to Retire

When you decide to retire, make an
appointment with a retirement advisor or request
an application by mail. Your application setting
your retirement date must be filed with our
office not more than 90 days before or after your
retirement date. Your signature on the application
must be notarized.

16
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Setting a Retirement Date

You may set your retirement date for the first
or the 16th day of the month following your last
actual working day. You must actually terminate
employment from all participating employers
covered by URS on or before your retirement date.

When You'll Receive Payment

Your retirement benefit is paid monthly.
Retirement checks for the month of payment
are mailed the last working day of each month.
Although your first check may be delayed up to
three months following your effective retirement
date, the amount of your check is retroactive to
the date your retirement began. This delay is due
in part to the time required to receive and post
salary information from your employer and to
receive verification of your termination and your
service credit eligibility.

Filing Your Application

When you file your retirement application, you
need to provide an original or legible photocopy
of your marriage certificate as well as birth
certificates or other proof-of-age documents
for yourself and your spouse. You may cancel or
change your application any time up to the date
of your retirement.

Note: There is a three-day rescission period
from the date your application is signed during
which time you may elect to make a change.

For more information, the Tier 1 Retirement
Guidebook is available on our website and from
our office.

17
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

Six Retirement Options

When you apply for retirement, you choose
one of six payout options. Consider carefully
because no alterations, additions, or cancellation
of benefits may be made after your date of
retirement.

Note: There is a three-day rescission period from
the date your application is signed during which time
you may elect to make a change.

Option One provides a maximum monthly
benefit for the rest of your life. No monthly
payments or refund of member contributions are
made to your benéeficiary(ies) after you die. If you
die within 90 days after your retirement date, your
retirement is canceled, and your account is settled
as though you were a non-retired member at the
time of death. (See the section marked Death
Benefits for Non-Retired Members.)

You are eligible for Option Two if you transferred
member contributions from the Utah Public
Employees’ Contributory Retirement System.

Option Two provides a slightly reduced
lifetime benefit. When you die, your
beneficiary(ies) will receive the balance of your
member contributions after a portion of your
monthly benefit payment has been deducted.
You may change your beneficiary(ies) under this
option at any time.

The following four options restrict your
beneficiary to the spouse to whom you are married
on the effective date of your retirement.

Option Three provides a reduced benefit
during your lifetime. After your death, your lawful
spouse, at the time of retirement, will receive the
same lifetime benefit.

18
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Option Four provides a reduced benefit
during your lifetime. After your death, your lawful
spouse, at the time of retirement, will receive a
lifetime benefit equal to one-half of your benefit.

Option Five provides a modification of the
benefit in Option Three. After your death, your
lawful spouse, at the time of retirement, will
receive the same lifetime benefit. If your spouse
dies before you do, your benefit will revert to the
amount payable under Option One.*

Option Six provides a modification of the
benefit in Option Four. After your death, your
lawful spouse, at the time of retirement, will
receive a lifetime benefit equal to one-half of
your benefit. If your spouse dies before you do,
your benefit reverts to the amount payable under
Option One.*

A member retiring under Option Five or Option
Six may increase the monthly benefit subsequent
to a divorce, depending on the court order.

*If we are notified more than 90 days after your spouse’s death,

your benefit will revert to the first of the month following the
month we are notified.

Retiree Life Insurance

You may purchase life insurance for yourself
and/or your spouse, which can be selected in
addition to the six payout options. The cost of
the life insurance appears as a deduction on your
retirement check. The coverage is available in
the amounts of $3,000, $5,000, or $10,000. If you
or your spouse die within the first three years
after retirement, payment to the designated
beneficiary(ies) will be as follows: 25% of the
selected amount will be paid if death occurs in
the first year; 50% will be paid if death occurs
during the second year; 75% will be paid if death
occurs during the third year; and payment of 100%
beginning with the fourth year and thereafter.

19
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2016-17 Tier 1 Noncontributory

You may cancel your election for life insurance
any time. However, you may only elect to purchase
retiree life insurance at retirement.

Partial Lump-Sum Option
(PLSO) at Retirement

At retirement, you have the option to
receive a lump-sum payment equal to 12 months
or 24 months of your lifetime monthly retirement
benefit. By electing to receive a lump-sum
payment, you accept a permanently reduced
lifetime monthly retirement benefit.

URS Savings Plans

URS offers four retirement savings plans:
401(k), 457, traditional IRA, and Roth IRA. You
and/or your employer have the option of
contributing to a 401(k) and/or 457 plan, if your
employer participates, and you have the option
of contributing to a traditional and/or Roth IRA.

Each plan has been established under separate
sections of the Internal Revenue Code. Therefore,
a separate set of laws and regulations governs
each plan. As a result, there are some differences
among the plans.

Information about the savings plans is available

at wwwe.urs.org or by contacting the Defined
Contribution Department at 801-366-7720 or
800-688-401k (press “0”to speak with a counselor
during normal business hours).

URS Savings Plans Quarterly Statements are
mailed to your home address and are also
available at www.urs.org, via myURS.

20
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Things to Know

Federal law requires you, if you are no longer
working, to begin receiving benefits on or before
April 1, following the year you turn age 70%.

If you are still working after age 70%2 you must
begin receiving benefits on or before April 1,
following the year you terminate employment.
If you fail to meet this required minimum
distribution (RMD), you may be subject to a
substantial federal excise tax.

An additional 3% may be added to your
monthly retirement benefit if you had retirement
service in your account on Jan. 1, 1989. If you
refund and subsequently reinstate withdrawn
contributions, you will forfeit the 3%.

Federal and Utah state income taxes can
be withheld from your retirement check. Federal
income tax will be withheld beginning with your
first retirement check unless you tell us otherwise.
If you're a nonresident, check your state’s tax laws
for the status of your Utah retirement benefits.
You may change your withholding status at any
time by logging into your myURS account at
wwwe.urs.org. Forms are also available from our
office and at www.urs.org.

If you had contributions withheld from your
paycheck, you may exclude a percentage of your
monthly benefit from taxation. This information
will arrive with your first retirement check under
separate cover. Every January you will receive a
1099-R showing the gross and taxable amounts
of benefits paid to you the previous year and
the taxes withheld. Consult a tax professional
regarding your own situation.

Social Security benefits are federally
sponsored. For information, contact your local
Social Security office.
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Health insurance after retirement is based
on your employer’s benefit package and should
be reviewed carefully with your employer before
you retire. You should also check with your
employer about any early retirement incentives.
A supplement to Medicare is available at age 65
to you and your spouse through Public Employees
Health Program (PEHP). For more information,
call PEHP at 801-366-7555 or 800-765-7347 or
visit www.pehp.org.

Cost-of-living increases of up to 4% of your
original retirement benefit begin one year after
you retire, based on the consumer price index.

Returning to work after retirement is
possible under the provisions described in
the Post-Retirement Employment brochure
available on our website and from our office.

Lost or misplaced checks can be replaced
if you request it in writing.

Direct deposit is available for monthly checks
once you retire. Forms are available from our office
and at www.urs.org.

We need to know if your address changes
in order to keep you informed about your
retirement benefits. Our having your current
address ensures that you receive your defined
benefit annual retirement statement, your defined
contribution quarterly statement (401(k), 457, IRAs),
informative publications, and information you
request on your account. You may change your
address by logging into your myURS account
at www.urs.org or you may request a form by
contacting our office. Statements are also
available by logging into myURS.

Your right to privacy is protected.
Information can be given over the telephone to
you only if you can demonstrate your identity
through knowledge of personal information.

If such knowledge cannot be demonstrated,
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account information will not be discussed over
the telephone. Because your file is confidential,
we cannot release information to your spouse,
relatives, or group representative. Information
provided through the URS website is permitted
only with a valid user identification (ID) and
password.

Administrative Information

Nonassignability of Benefits or Payments

Retirement benefits or payments are not
subject to alienation or assignment by you
and are not subject to attachment, execution,
garnishment, or any other legal or equitable
process except for a domestic relations order
(DRO) and IRS tax levies. If there is a valid DRO on
your URS Defined Benefit Retirement (pension)
account or your URS Savings Plans (401(k), 457,
traditional or Roth IRA), part of your benefits will
be paid to your alternate payee (ex-spouse), as
specified in the DRO. Our office cannot begin
payment of your defined benefit retirement
(pension) to an alternate payee until you terminate
employment and apply for retirement benefits.
Payments from your URS Savings Plans to an
alternate payee can begin as soon as a valid DRO
is filed with our office.

The defined benefit plans (pension) and the
defined contribution savings plans have separate
model DROs, available from our office, to help
attorneys prepare an acceptable order.

Appeals

If you disagree with the calculation of a benefit,
accrual of service credit, or with some other action
taken by a department of our office, you may
appeal such decisions pursuant to Utah Code
Ann. §49-11-613.
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If you decide to seek reversal of a decision by
a department of our office, you'll need to write a
letter to the executive director stating the facts of
the situation, the remedy you seek, and the legal
or equitable basis for the reversal. The executive
director will review the case and either grant or
deny your request. If it is denied, you may, within
30 days of the denial, file a written petition with
the hearing officer. Steps for filing the petition
will be sent to you at that time.

A Final Word

This brochure is general in nature. For specific
information on your account, contact our office in
Salt Lake City or St. George.

For more information regarding the URS Savings
Plans (401(k), 457, IRAs) contact our Defined
Contribution Department at 801-366-7720 or
at 800-688-401k.
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Salt Lake City Office

560 East 200 South, Suite 240

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2021
801-366-7700 - 800-365-8772

TTY 800-877-8339 or 711

Visit: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Salt Lake Office Mailing Address
P.O. Box 1590 - Salt Lake City, UT 84110-1590
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Southern Utah Branch Office
165 North 100 East, #9

St. George, UT 84770-2505
435-673-6300 - 800-950-4877

For more information: www.urs.org
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