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Welcome to the

Public Safety Retirement Systems!

The
Public Safety

Noncontributory and Contributory
Retirement Systems are defined
benefit retirement plans under Utah
Retirement Systems (URS) intended
to provide a meaningful retirement
benefit to the employees who have
chosen a career in public service.
They are qualified tax-deferred
plans under Internal Revenue Code
Section 401(a). The laws that
govern these retirement systems

are set forth in Utah Code Title 49.
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Membership Eligibility

You qualify for membership if you initially
began full-time employment prior to July 1,
2011, and your employment normally requires
an average of 2,080 hours of regularly scheduled
employment per year,

AND

You work in a recognized public safety
department, as a law enforcement officer,
correctional officer, or special function officer, and
in the course of employment, your life or personal
safety is at risk, and you have completed a certified
training program that is documented with our
office, for anyone enrolled since Jan. 1, 1984.

OR

You are an eligible certified dispatcher whose
employer elected coverage in the Public Safety
system.

OR

You are a full-time member of the Board of
Pardons and Parole.

If you don't meet the eligibility requirements
outlined above, based on your employer’s
participation, you will be enrolled in either
the Public Employees Contributory or
Noncontributory Retirement System as long as
you meet eligibility requirements.

If you transfer from one participating public
safety employer to another, you'll become
a member of the system to which your new
employer belongs.
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Employees who may exempt from
retirement coverage by filing a URS
exemption form with our office:

» The commissioner of public safety;

» The executive director of the Department
of Corrections,

» The elected or appointed sheriff, or

» The chief of police of a public safety
organization.

In all cases, an exemption form must be filed
with our office before the date of exemption.

Defined Benefit Annual
Retirement Statement

URS Defined Benefit (pension) Annual Retirement
Statements reflect salary, contributions paid
by you and/or your employer on your behalf,
(Contributory Retirement System), or transferred
from the Contributory Retirement System, service
credit, and designated beneficiaries. Statements
are mailed to your home address and are also
available online. Go to www.urs.org and login to
myURS.

Refunds

If you terminate all URS-covered employment
you may request a refund of your member
contributions, if applicable.

If you elect to take a refund, you forfeit
contributory service credit for the periods covered
by your member contributions.

Your refund will be processed after 60 days
from the last date of the pay period for which
contributions were paid.

=
m
=
-
)
=
o
=
(%}
Q
-
m
-
<




>
-
[
Y-
©
(%]
v
I
=
o
—
-
4
-

2015-16 Tier 1 Public Safety

You are not eligible for a refund
under the following conditions:

» You transfer from one participating employer
under URS to another.

» You terminate your employment with
one participating employer and you are
subsequently rehired by the same or a different
participating employer even though there may
be a break in service.

» You terminate employment, apply for a refund,
and subsequently accept employment with
another participating employer before the
disbursement of your refund payment.

» You are exempt from retirement coverage
as a chief of police, sheriff, or commissioner
of public safety.

» You are receiving or have applied for long-term
disability benefits through an agency that has
a benefit protection contract with our office.

» You are on a leave of absence from any position
covered by this system.

Ifyou have exempted from retirement coverage,
you may request a direct rollover of member
contributions, if applicable, to a qualified defined
contribution plan.

A Word of Caution — refunds are subject to:

—A 20% federal income tax withholding on
the eligible portion of your distribution,
unless you make a direct rollover to a 401(k)
or eligible plan.

—Utah state income tax.

—Possible taxes of the state where you reside
if other than Utah.

—A 10% early withdrawal penalty if taken
before age 592.
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If you are a qualified public safety employee
who separated from service after age 50, you
aren’t subject to the 10% early withdrawal tax
imposed by the IRS. A qualified public safety
employee provides police protection, firefighting
or emergency medical services within the
jurisdiction of the employing state or political
subdivision.

Note: You do not lose service credit if you
withdraw your URS Savings Plans (401(k), 457,
IRAs) balances. For more information regarding the
401(k) plan, 457 plan, and IRAs please see the section
marked URS Savings Plans.

Reinstating Withdrawn
Contributions

As long as you have an existing record of
eligible, nonforfeited, service credit with our
office, you or your employer may reinstate
qualified service you previously withdrew. The
cost to reinstate your account is the amount you
withdrew plus interest from the date of withdrawal
to the date of repayment. The entire amount of
withdrawn contributions plus interest may be
paid in a lump-sum or by installment payments
through payroll deduction. The reinstatement
must be completed before your retirement date.
Reinstating eligible service may qualify you for
an earlier retirement and/or increase your
monthly benefit.

See the section marked Payment Options
(page 7) for reinstating withdrawn contributions.
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Service Purchase

If you are an active member, have an existing
record of four or more years of eligible service
credit with our office, and the service credit you
intend to purchase has been forfeited under
any other retirement system or plan, you or your
employer may purchase the following:

» Active full-time United States military service if

it does not otherwise qualify for service credit
under a system administered by URS.

OR

Any portion of the following qualified service if
the service has been forfeited under any other
retirement system or plan. This includes:
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1.) Forfeited United States federal employment,

2.) Forfeited private school employment based
in the United States, if you received an
employer-paid retirement benefit for the
employment,

3.) Forfeited public employment in another
state or territory of the United States that
qualified you for membership in the public
plan or system covering the employment,

4.) Forfeited public service in this state,

5.) Full-time public employment while on an
approved leave of absence,

6.) Exempt service,

7.) Worker’s compensation, long-term and
short-term disability benefit periods
for which you were paid and no benefit
protection contract existed,

8.) Employment covered by the Teachers
Insurance and Annuity Association of
America (TIAA) retirement plan if you forfeit
any retirement benefit from that plan for
the period of employment to be purchased,
or
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9.) Forfeited Utah Charter School employment.

The purchase must be credited to the system
under which you are currently covered and be
completed before your retirement date set with
our office.

To qualify for a purchase, service credit you've
earned in other public employment outside of URS
coverage must meet the minimum qualifications
of the system you're in at the time of purchase.
Under this system, a minimum of 2,080 hours of
employment per year is required.

For detailed information on the types of service
you may purchase, refer to the Purchasing Service
Credit brochure available on our website and from
our office.

See the following section, Payment Options,
for making a purchase.

Payment Options

You may reinstate eligible service you
previously withdrew or purchase service according
to one of the following options:

1.) Lump-sum payment made anytime before
your effective date of retirement set with our
office.

2.) Payroll deduction (with your employer’s
approval) must be completed before your
effective date of retirement and within 60
months of your first payment.

3.) Directrollover you arrange from your 401(k)
or other qualified plan, or from an eligible plan
such as a 403(b), 457, or conduit IRA.

4.) Payment made by your employer must
be received by our office no later than the day
before your retirement date.

All payments must be received before your
date of retirement set with our office.
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2015-16 Tier 1 Public Safety

For specific information about purchases,
please contact the Defined Benefit Retirement
Department at 801-366-7770 or 800-695-4877.

Disability Benefits

Your employer’s long-term disability (LTD)
program describes your benefits. If your employer
has a benefit protection contract with our office
and you have been approved for LTD benefits,
you will continue to accrue service credit while
receiving LTD benefits until you retire through URS
or qualify for an unreduced retirement benefit.

Death Benefits

Division A
(With Social Security coverage)

Non-Retired Member (Active)

If you die in the line of duty, your spouse,
at the time of death, will receive a lump-sum
payment equal to six months of your final average
salary plus a monthly benefit of 30% of your final
average monthly salary.

If your death is not in the line of duty, and you
have fewer than 10 years of public safety service
credit, your beneficiary(ies) will receive a $1,000
lump-sum payment or a refund of member
contributions, whichever is greater. If you have
10 or more years, your spouse will receive a $500
lump-sum payment, plus a monthly benefit of
2% of your final average monthly salary for each
year of service, up to 30% of your final average
monthly salary.

(Noncontributory Only)

If you die and have 20 or more years of public
safety service credit, you will be considered retired.
Your spouse, at the time of death, will receive 65% of
your monthly benefit.

Retirement Systems Highlights

Division B
(Without Social Security coverage)

Non-Retired Member (Active)

If you die in the line of duty, your spouse,
at the time of death, will receive a lump-sum plus
a monthly benefit of 37.5% of your final average
monthly salary. Each unmarried child under age
18 or dependent unmarried child who is mentally
or physically disabled will receive $50 per month,
if you have two or more years of public safety
service credit. Total monthly payments cannot
exceed 75% of your final average monthly salary.

If your death is not in the line of duty and you
have fewer than two years of public safety service
credit, your spouse, at the time of death, will
receive a refund of member contributions plus
50% of your last 12 months’salary. If you have two
or more years, your spouse, at the time of death,
will receive a lump-sum payment of $1,500 plus
a monthly benefit of 37.5% of your final average
monthly salary. Each unmarried child under age
18 or dependent unmarried child who is mentally
or physically disabled will receive $50 per month,
if you have two or more years of public safety
service credit. Total monthly payments cannot
exceed 75% of your final average monthly salary.

Both Divisions
Non-Retired Member (Active)

If you die and leave no spouse or minor
children, your beneficiary(ies) will receive a
100% refund of member contributions or $500,
whichever is greater.

Non-Retired Member (Inactive)

If you are an inactive member with less than 20
years of public safety service credit, your spouse,
at the time of death, or if you die leaving no
spouse or minor children, your beneficiary(ies) will
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receive a refund of member contributions or $500,
whichever is greater.

If you are an inactive member with 20 or more
years of public safety service credit when you die,
your spouse, at the time of death, will receive a
benefit of 50% of the amount payable to you had
you retired on the first of the month, following the
month, in which your death occurred.

Retired Member

After your death, your spouse, at the time of
death, will receive a monthly benefit equal to 65%
of your monthly benéefit. If you elected a smaller
monthly benefit at the time of retirement, your
spouse will receive 75% of your monthly benefit.

If you retired under Division B and you die
leaving unmarried children, refer to Division B,
Non-Retired Member (Active) on page 8.

Note: In order for your spouse’s benefit to be
effective the first day of the month following the
month of your death (the benefit effective date),
your spouse must file an application with our office
within 90 days of your death. If the application is
received 90 days after your death, the benefit effective
date will be the first day of the month following the
month in which the application is received.

After your death, any money in your URS Savings
Plans (401(k), 457, IRAs) will be payable to your
beneficiary(ies).

Retirement Qualifications

You qualify for a monthly retirement benefit if
you are:

—65 with 4 years of service.
—60 with 10 years of service.
—Any age with 20 years of service.

You receive credit for any part of a year for
which contributions have been paid.

10
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Benefit Formula

To estimate your monthly retirement benefit,
follow the steps below or go to www.urs.org and
use the Retirement Benefit Estimate Calculator.

1.) TOTAL your three
highest years of salary* $

2.) DIVIDE line 1 by 36,
this is your final
average monthly salary $

3.) MULTIPLY your years of service:

a. Multiply years of service
through 20 by 2.5% (.025)

b. Multiply years of service
over 20 by 2% (.02)

4.) ADD lines 3a and 3b

5.) MULTIPLY line 2 by

line 4 for your TOTAL $
*Salary refers to the regular work period certified by the
employer.

If any one of the years used exceeds the previous year’s
salary by more than 10%, plus a cost-of-living adjustment
determined by the consumer price index, the year(s) in
question will be limited.

Service in Other Utah
Retirement Systems

If you were employed in more than one Utah
Retirement System or URS Retirement Plan and
the service is not concurrent, you may combine
your service credits to determine your eligibility
to retire from the system you are in at the time
of your retirement. The service you render in any
one year cannot count for more than one year of
qualifying service credit. Your benefit is computed
using the service from the system in which you
currently participate plus the transferred service

1
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which is increased or decreased to reflect the
value of the assets transferred.

Note: If your service is coming from a Public
Employees’ Retirement System, and if you have less
than a total of 30 years of service, and you are under
age 65, an early age reduction applies.

Steps to Retirement

Get an Estimate

Before making the decision to retire, you can
compute an estimate of your potential benefit by
going to www.urs.org and using the Retirement
Benefit Estimate Calculator. Contact our office for
a URS-generated estimate if you're planning to
retire in the next 12 months.

Once You Decide to Retire

When you decide to retire, make an
appointment with a retirement advisor or request
an application by mail. Your application setting
your retirement date must be filed with our
office not more than 90 days before or after your
retirement date. Your signature on the application
must be notarized.

Setting a Retirement Date

You may set your retirement date for the first
or the 16th day of the month following your last
actual working day. You must actually terminate
employment, from all participating employers

covered by URS on or before your retirement date.

When You'll Receive Payment

Your retirement benefit is paid monthly.
Retirement checks for the month of payment
are mailed the last working day of each month.
Although your first check may be delayed up to
three months following your effective retirement
date, the amount of your check is retroactive to

12

Retirement Systems Highlights

the date your retirement began. This delay is due
in part to the time required to receive and post
salary information from your employer and to
receive verification of your termination and your
service credit eligibility.

Filing Your Application

When you file your retirement application, you
need to provide an original or legible photocopy
of your marriage certificate as well as birth
certificates or other proof-of-age documents
for yourself and your spouse. You may cancel or
change your application anytime up to the date of
your retirement.

Note: There is a three-day rescission period from
the date your application is signed during which time
you may elect to make a change.

For more information, the Steps to Retirement
brochure is available on our website and from our
office.

Partial Lump-Sum Option
(PLSO) at Retirement

At retirement, you have the option to receive
a lump-sum payment equal to 12 months or
24 months of your lifetime monthly retirement
benefit. By electing to receive a lump-sum
payment, you accept a permanently reduced
lifetime monthly retirement benefit.

URS Savings Plans

URS offers four retirement savings plans:
401(k), 457, traditional IRA, and Roth IRA. You
and/or your employer have the option of
contributing to a 401(k) and/or 457 plan, if your
employer participates, and you have the option of
contributing to a traditional and/or Roth IRA.

13
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Each plan has been established under separate
sections of the Internal Revenue Code. Therefore,
a separate set of laws and regulations governs
each plan. As a result, there are some differences
among the plans.

Information about the savings plans is available
www.urs.org or by contacting the Defined
Contribution Department at 801-366-7720 or
800-688-401k (press “0” to speak with a counselor
during normal business hours).

URS Savings Plans Quarterly Statements are
mailed to your home address and are also
available at www.urs.org, via myURS.

Things to Know

Federal law requires you, if you are no longer
working, to begin receiving benefits on or before
April 1, following the year you turn age 70%-.

If you are still working after age 702 you must
begin receiving benefits on or before April 1,
following the year you terminate employment.
If you fail to meet this required minimum
distribution (RMD), you may be subject to a
substantial federal excise tax.

An additional 3% may be added to your
monthly retirement benefit if you had retirement
service in your account on January 1, 1989. If you
refund and subsequently reinstate withdrawn
contributions, you forfeit the 3%.

Federal and Utah state income taxes can
be withheld from your retirement check. Federal
income tax will be withheld beginning with your
first retirement check unless you tell us otherwise. If
you're a nonresident, check your state’s tax laws for
the status of your Utah retirement benefits. You may
change your withholding status at anytime. Forms
are available from our office and at www.urs.org.

If you had contributions withheld from your
paycheck, you may exclude a percentage of your

14
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monthly benefit from taxation. This information
will arrive with your first retirement check under
separate cover. Every January you will receive a
1099-R showing the gross and taxable amounts
of benefits paid to you the previous year and
the taxes withheld. Consult a tax professional
regarding your own situation.

Social Security benefits are federally
sponsored. For information, contact your local
Social Security office.

Health insurance after retirement is based
on your employer’s benefit package and should
be reviewed carefully with your employer before
you retire. You should also check with your
employer about any early retirement incentives.
A supplement to Medicare is available at age 65
to you and your spouse through Public Employees
Health Program (PEHP). For more information,
call PEHP at 801-366-7555 or 800-765-7347 or visit
www.pehp.org.

Cost-of-living (COLA) increases of up to
2.5% of your original retirement benefit begin one
year after you retire, based on the consumer price
index (CPI). Some employers provide an enhanced
cost-of-living (COLA) benefit to their eligible Public
Safety retirees that will raise the maximum COLA
from 2.5% to 4% based on the CPI.

Returning to work after retirement is
possible under the provisions described in the
Post-Retirement Employment brochure available
on our website and from our office.

Lost or misplaced checks can be replaced
if you request it in writing.

Direct deposit is available for monthly checks
once you retire. Forms are available from our office
and at www.urs.org.

We need to know if your address changes in
order to keep you informed about your retirement
benefits. Our having your current address ensures

15
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that you receive your defined benefit annual
retirement statement, your defined contribution
quarterly statement (401(k), 457, IRAs), informative
publications, and information you request on your
account. You may change your address by logging
into your myURS account at www.urs.org or

you may request a form by contacting our office.
Statements are also available by logging

into myURS.

Your right to privacy is protected.
Information can be given over the telephone
to you only if you can demonstrate your identity
through knowledge of personal information.

If such knowledge cannot be demonstrated,
account information will not be discussed over
the telephone. Because your file is confidential,
we cannot release information to your spouse,
relatives, or group representative. Information
provided through our website and interactive
voice response (IVR) system is permitted only
with a valid user identification (ID) and personal
identification number (PIN).

Beneficiary designations should be kept
current and on file in our office at all times. You
may change your beneficiary(ies) at any time by
logging into your account at www.urs.org under
myURS. When updating your beneficiary(ies), you
revoke all previous designations. Forms are also
available from our office or at www.urs.org.

Administrative Information

Nonassignability of Benefits or Payments

Retirement benefits or payments are not
subject to alienation or assignment by you and are

not subject to attachment, execution, garnishment,

or any other legal or equitable process except

for a domestic relations order (DRO) and IRS tax
levies. If there is a valid DRO on your URS Defined
Benefit Retirement (pension) account or your URS

16
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Savings Plans (401(k), 457, traditional or Roth IRA),
part of your benefits will be paid to your alternate
payee (ex-spouse), as specified in the DRO. Our
office cannot begin payment of your defined
benefit retirement (pension) to an alternate payee
until you terminate employment and apply for
retirement benefits. Payments from your URS
Savings Plans to an alternate payee can begin as
soon as a valid DRO is filed with our office. The
defined benefit plans (pension) and the defined
contribution savings plans have separate model
DROs, available from our office, to help attorneys
prepare an acceptable order.

Appeals

If you disagree with the calculation of a benefit,
accrual of service credit, or with some other action
taken by a department of our office, you may
appeal such decisions pursuant to Utah Code
Ann. § 49-11-613.

If you decide to seek reversal of a decision by
a department of our office, you'll need to write a
letter to the executive director stating the facts of
the situation, the remedy you seek, and the legal
or equitable basis for the reversal. The executive
director will review the case and either grant or
deny your request. If it is denied, you may, within
30 days of the denial, file a written petition with
the hearing officer. Steps for filing the petition will
be sent to you at that time.

A Final Word

This brochure is general in nature. For specific
information on your account, contact our office in
Salt Lake City or St. George.

For more information regarding the URS Savings

Plans (401(k), 457, IRAs) contact our Defined
Contribution Department at 801-366-7720 or
at 800-688-401k.

17
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Salt Lake City Office

560 East 200 South, Suite 240

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2021
801-366-7700 - 800-365-8772

TTY 800-877-8339 or 711

Visit: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Salt Lake Office Mailing Address
P.O.Box 1590 - Salt Lake City, UT 84110-1590

. Main St.
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Southern Utah Branch Office
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St. George, UT 84770-2505
435-673-6300 - 800-950-4877

For more information: www.urs.org
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