FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT (FLSA)
2016 FACT SHEET
State of Utah Government Employees
Effective December 1, 2016 (November 19th for State of Utah employees)

On May 18, 2016, the Department of Labor issued a new rule that updates the regulations determining which white-collar, salaried employees are entitled to the Fair Labor Standards Act’s (FLSA) minimum wage and overtime pay protections. Below is a chart showing how the current regulations differ from the new regulations, effective December 1, 2016: 

	Fair Labor Standards Act
Current vs. New Regulations

	
	Current Regulations
2004 to November 2016
	FLSA New Regulations
Effective: December 1, 2016
(November 19th for State of Utah Employees)

	Salary Level
	$455 weekly ($23,660 annually)
	$913 weekly ($47,476 annually)

	Highly Compensated Employee Total Annual Compensation Level
	$1,923.08 weekly ($100,000 annually)
	$2,577 weekly ($134,004 annually)

	Automatic Adjusting
	None
	Every 3 years, beginning January 1, 2020

	Bonuses
	No provision to count non-discretionary* bonuses and commissions toward the standard salary level
	Up to 10% of standard salary level can come from non-discretionary* bonuses, incentive payments, and commissions, paid at least quarterly

	Standard Duties Test
	See WHD Fact Sheet #17A** for a description of Executive, Administrative, Professional (EAP) duties
	No changes to the standard duties test


* Nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive payments (including commissions) are forms of compensation promised to employees to induce them to work more efficiently or to remain with the company. Examples include bonuses for meeting set production goals, retention bonuses, and commission payments based on a fixed formula. 
** Please refer to the Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) Fact Sheet #17a for a description of executive, administrative, and professional (EAP) duties, located at https://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime/fs17a_overview.htm
Here are more details about the new regulations:
· The new salary level of $913 per week is equal to the 40th percentile of weekly earnings for full-time salaried workers in the lowest-wage Census Region, currently the South. 

· The new highly compensation employee (HCE) salary level of $2,577 weekly is equal to the 90th percentile of full time salaried workers nationally.


· To qualify for one of the white collar exemptions, an employee generally must meet the following requirements:

· Be paid a predetermined and fixed salary that is not subject to reduction because of variations in the quality or quantity of work performed, and
· Be paid at or more than $913 per week ($47,476 annually for a full-year worker), and
· Primarily perform executive, administrative, or professional duties (EAP), as defined in the Department of Labor’s regulations (the “duties test”) or 
· Be a highly compensated employees (HCE) who earns above a higher total annual compensation level ($134,004) and satisfy a minimal duties test.

· [bookmark: _GoBack]The new regulations are NOT changing any of the existing job duty requirements to qualify for exemption. The Department of Labor expects that the new standard salary level will work effectively with the duties test to distinguish between overtime-eligible workers and those who may be FLSA exempt. The revised salary threshold will reduce the number of workers for whom employers must apply the duties test to determine FLSA exempt status. 

· Several provisions apply to employees of schools and institutions of higher education that exempt them from the new FLSA changes. Teachers are exempt if their primary duty is teaching, tutoring, instructing or lecturing. However, an employee whose primary duty is to care for the physical needs of the facility’s children would not meet the requirements for exemption as a bona fide teacher.  In addition, the administrative personnel that help run higher education institutions, such as department heads, academic counselors and advisors, and others with similar responsibilities are subject to a special salary threshold that does not apply to white-collar employees outside of higher education. Instead, they are not eligible for overtime if they are paid at least as much as the entrance salary for teachers at their institution. Finally, public universities or colleges that qualify as a “public agency” under the FLSA may compensate overtime-eligible employees through the use of compensatory time off in lieu of cash overtime premiums. 

· The FLSA provides that most covered employees must receive overtime pay for hours worked over 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than one and one-half times their regular rate of pay. The use of “comp time” instead of overtime pay is limited by the FLSA to a public agency that is a state, a political subdivision of a state, or an interstate governmental agency, under specific circumstances. Private employers cannot satisfy their overtime obligations by providing comp time and must pay overtime-eligible employees an overtime premium for hours over 40 in a workweek. 
