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State of Utah Government Employees 
Effective January 1, 2020 

 

1. What is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)? 
 

The FLSA contains the minimum wage provisions, Equal Pay Act, child labor restrictions, and a variety of other 
federal labor and employment law sections. A key provision of the Act is that employees classified as FLSA 
Non‐Exempt must be paid time and one‐half for all overtime hours worked within a designated workweek. 
The most common threshold for overtime is 40 hours per workweek, typically Saturday through Friday. 

 

2. What is the difference between FLSA Exempt and FLSA Non‐Exempt? 
 

FLSA Exempt – The Fair Labor Standards Act contains dozens of exemptions under which specific categories 
of employers and employees are exempted from overtime requirements. The most common exemptions are 
the white‐collar exemptions for administrative, executive, and professional employees, computer 
professionals, and outside sales employees. The primary distinction of exempt employees is that they are not 
paid overtime, no matter how many hours they work. State of Utah employees that are FLSA exempt will 
receive compensatory time, at straight time, for every hour worked over 80 hours in a pay period. 

 

FLSA Non‐Exempt – All FLSA non‐exempt employees are entitled to overtime pay under the Fair Labor 
Standards Act. Employers must pay them one‐and‐a‐half times their regular rate of pay when they work more 
than 40 hours in a designated workweek. State of Utah employees that are FLSA non‐exempt can choose to 
receive overtime or to accrue compensatory time (accrued at time and one‐half) for every hour worked over 
40 hours in a designated workweek. 

 

3. How do I find out my current FLSA status? 
 

You are able to view your current FLSA status from the  Employee Self Service (ESS) Payroll System by clicking 
on Enter Time, then from the Time Sheet: Data Entry View review your FLSA Overtime (OT) Rule, OR you can 
contact the ERIC at 801‐538‐3742. 

 

4. What are the federally mandated minimums for FLSA? 
 

The salary level threshold for executive, administrative and professional employees (EAP) to be classified as 
FLSA exempt is $684 per week ($17.10 per hour). This minimum salary level was increased from $455 week 
($11.38 per hour) effective January 1, 2020.  

 

5. Does my FLSA status affect my ability to work full‐time or part‐time? 
 

No, but your hours worked per designated workweek may affect your FLSA status. To be classified as FLSA 
exempt, the employee must earn the threshold of $684 per week, regardless of the hourly rate earned. As 
stated in number one, if you work over 40 hours in a workweek you will be paid time‐and‐one‐half for those 
hours if you are FLSA non‐exempt. 



6. Is there a maximum amount of hours I can work in a week? 
 

The number of hours worked in a designated workweek is determined by your supervisor. Hours worked over 
40 per designated workweek will be paid at time and one half for FLSA non‐exempt employees. 

 

7. Does a change in FLSA status affect how I enter my timesheet? 
 

No. For both FLSA exempt and FLSA non‐exempt employees, DHRM rule R477‐8‐8(1) states, “Employees shall 
complete and submit a state approved bi‐weekly time record that accurately reflects the hours actually 
worked...” Prior approval must be obtained before working over 40 hours in a week for non‐exempt 
employees, or working over 80 hours in a pay period for exempt employees. 

 

8. Does a change in FLSA status affect my Tier I or Tier II Retirement Plans? 
 

No. There is no direct effect to your retirement plan with any FLSA status change. 
 

9. Will FLSA changes affect my leave accrual? 
 

Generally no. However, employees with a direct reporting relationship to an elected official, executive 
director, deputy director, commissioner or board who are granted the maximum annual leave accrual under 
Rule 477‐7‐3(2)(b) may be affected if their FLSA status changes to non‐exempt. 

 

10. If my FLSA status changes to non‐exempt, how do I choose my overtime election (Comp Time vs. 
Monetary Payment)? 

 

If your FLSA status changes to non‐exempt, you may elect to complete the Overtime Election Agreement 
which can be obtained from the Employee Gateway.  Employees failing to complete the Overtime  Election 
Agreement will default to comp time accrued at one and one half time the regular hourly rate for all hours 
worked over 40 in a work week. Employees wishing to receive monetary payment for overtime worked 
MUST complete an Overtime Election Agreement. Overtime Election Agreements may be changed at any 
time. Completed agreements should be emailed to ERICtransactions@utah.gov or faxed to 801‐538‐3616. 

 

11. What will happen to my accrued comp time if I move to a position that is non‐exempt from an exempt 
positon? 

 

DHRM Rule R477‐8‐6 states “…Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt employee shall lapse upon 
occurrence of any one of the following events: at the end of the employee's established overtime year; upon 
assignment to another agency; changes FLSA status to nonexempt; or when an employee terminates, retires, 
or otherwise does not return to work before the end of the overtime year.” 

 

12. What will happen to my accrued comp time if I move to a position that is exempt from a non‐exempt 
positon? 

 

DHRM Rule R477‐8‐5 states “…Compensatory time balances for an FLSA nonexempt employee shall be paid 
down to zero at the rate of pay in the old position in the same pay period that the employee is: transferred 
from one agency to a different agency; or promoted, reclassified, reassigned or transferred to an FLSA 
exempt position.” 


