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1.  What is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)?

The FLSA contains the minimum wage provisions, Equal Pay Act, child labor restrictions, and a variety of other federal labor and employment law sections. A key provision of the Act is that employees classified as FLSA Non-Exempt must be paid time and one-half for all overtime hours worked within a designated workweek. The most common threshold for overtime is 40 hours per workweek, typically Saturday through Friday.

2. What is the difference between FLSA Exempt and FLSA Non-Exempt?

FLSA Exempt – The Fair Labor Standards Act contains dozens of exemptions under which specific categories of employers and employees are exempted from overtime requirements. The most common exemptions are the white-collar exemptions for administrative, executive, and professional employees, computer professionals, and outside sales employees. The primary distinction of exempt employees is that they are not paid overtime, no matter how many hours they work. State of Utah employees that are FLSA exempt will receive compensatory time, at straight time, for every hour worked over 80 hours in a pay period.

FLSA Non-Exempt – All FLSA non-exempt employees are entitled to overtime pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Employers must pay them one-and-a-half times their regular rate of pay when they work more than 40 hours in a designated workweek. State of Utah employees that are FLSA non-exempt can choose to receive overtime or to accrue compensatory time (accrued at time and one-half) for every hour worked over 40 hours in a designated workweek.

3. How do I find out my current FLSA status?

You are able to view your current FLSA status by logging into the Employee Gateway.  In the “My Employee Profile” section follow the “View More Details” link, and you will find your FLSA status in the “Personal Information & Assignment” section.

4. What are the federally mandated changes affecting the FLSA?

The changes include an increase to the minimum salary needed for executive, administrative and professional employees (EAP) to be classified as FLSA exempt. The current salary level threshold of $455 per week ($11.38 per hour) for the minimum salary level was set in 2004. The new minimum will be $913 per week ($22.83 per hour) beginning December 1, 2016. Employees currently in an FLSA exempt job that has a salary range minimum below this new threshold will be reclassified to non-exempt unless the minimum of the job’s salary range is increased. The decision to increase salary ranges will be determined by agency management in consultation with DHRM and GOMB.
5. How do I know if my FLSA status will change?

You will receive a notice from your HR office or agency management if your status will change from FLSA exempt to FLSA non-exempt. Affected employees and their direct supervisors will be contacted by email, with an attached letter, on October 24, 2016. If you have questions you may contact your assigned HR office, refer to the FLSA section of the Employee Gateway, or refer to the information provided within the email or attachments. 

6. Does my FLSA status affect my ability to work full-time or part-time?

No, but your hours worked per designated workweek may affect your FLSA status. To be classified as FLSA exempt, the employee must earn the threshold of $913 per week, regardless of the hourly rate earned. As stated in number one, if you work over 40 hours in a workweek you will be paid time-and-one-half for those hours if you are FLSA non-exempt. 

7. Will this change affect my work schedule? Am I able to flex my schedule as a non-exempt employee?

Possibly.  Your supervisor must approve your schedule including any overtime hours accrued.  All hours worked beyond 40 hours in a designated workweek will be counted as overtime (paid at time and one-half) for FLSA Non-Exempt employees.

8. Will this change affect the amount I receive each paycheck? 

This change will not decrease your hourly rate.  However, your supervisor will determine the number of hours worked in a week which will determine your overall pay.

9. Is there a maximum amount of hours I can work in a week?

The number of hours worked in a designated workweek is determined by your supervisor. Hours worked over 40 per designated workweek will be paid at time and one half for FLSA non-exempt employees. 

10. Does this change affect how I enter my timesheet?

No. For both FLSA exempt and FLSA non-exempt employees, DHRM rule R477-8-8(1) states, “Employees shall complete and submit a state approved bi-weekly time record that accurately reflects the hours actually worked...”

11. Does this change affect my Tier I or Tier II Retirement Plans?

No. There is no direct effect to your retirement plan with any FLSA status change.

12. Will FLSA changes affect my leave accrual?

Generally no. However, employees with a direct reporting relationship to an elected official, executive director, deputy director, commissioner or board who are granted the maximum annual leave accrual under Rule 477-7-3(2)(b) may be affected if their FLSA status changes to non-exempt. 
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If your FLSA status changes to non-exempt, you may elect to complete the Overtime Election Agreement which can be obtained here or from the Employee Gateway.  Employees failing to complete the Overtime Election Agreement will default to comp time accrued at one and one half time the regular hourly rate for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. Employees wishing to receive monetary payment for overtime worked MUST complete an Overtime Election Agreement. Overtime Election Agreements may be changed at any time. Completed agreements should be emailed to ERICtransactions@utah.gov or faxed to 801-538-3616. 

14. How often do these changes take place?

Based on current FLSA rules, future automatic updates to the FLSA salary threshold will occur every three years, beginning on January 1, 2020.

15. When will these changes take place?

The effective date of the final rule is December 1, 2016; however, for state employees the FLSA status changes will go into effect on November 19 (pay period 24).

16. What will happen to my accrued comp time if my position moves from exempt to non-exempt?

Comp time balances held by employees will not be affected. Comp hours will be rolled over during the transition from exempt to non-exempt. Individual agencies may choose to track the comp hours earned while an employee was exempt and delete them at the end of the originally assigned overtime year. Otherwise the hours will be kept by employees. All comp hours earned while FLSA non-exempt will be maintained until they are used or paid out. 

