
Employee Retirement Checklist 
Updated August 27, 2018 

 

There are 3 entities that all State of Utah retirees must contact when they are ready to begin the retirement 

process. This checklist provides a brief overview of the steps a retiree will complete with each entity.  

A retiree may begin the retirement process ​3 months​ prior to his/her desired retirement date. 

Utah Retirement Systems (URS) 
(801) 366-7770 
(800) 695-4877 

 
 
o Contact a URS Retirement Advisor 

and state your intention to retire 

and your retirement date 

o Confirm that you are eligible to 

retire at your intended time 

o Complete Application for Purchase 

of Future Service Credit (Section A), 

if applicable. 

o Submit Application for Purchase of 

Future Service Credit to ERIC for 

Part B completion. ERIC will return 

the completed form to you and to 

URS on your behalf. 

o Complete Retirement Application. 

o Submit required proof-of-age 

documentation and marriage 

certificate 

o Receive URS Monthly Benefit 

Estimate 

o Make decisions regarding Partial 

Lump-Sum Payment Options 

(PLSO), Retirement Payment 

Options, and Life Insurance 

Options. 

o Complete and return all applicable 

forms received in your brown URS 

folder. 

 
*A detailed list of forms and explanations 
of options can be found at 
www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/ste
pstoretire.pdf 

Employee Resource Information 
Center (ERIC) 

(801) 538-3742 
employeegateway.utah.gov 

 
o Submit your request to be 

assigned to a Retirement 

Specialist. 

o You will be contacted by phone or 

email by your Specialist. The 

Specialist will gather information 

from you regarding your leave 

balances to prepare the most 

accurate leave benefits estimate 

possible.  

o Work with Specialist to 

understand annual 

payout/deferral options and 

benefits provided by sick leave.  

o Receive estimate worksheet from 

your Specialist. 

o Schedule appointment to meet 

with your Specialist to sign final 

documents (listed below). This 

meeting should be scheduled to 

take place no sooner than 30 days 

before your retirement date, and 

normally within your final 2 weeks 

of employment. 

Form Checklist 
o Retirement Worksheet  Part I 

o Retirement Worksheet Part II 

o URS Investment Contract (if 

applicable) 

o Leave Transfer Authorization (if 

applicable) 

o URS Employee Benefits Notification 

o PEHP Employee Benefits Notification 

Public Employees Health Plan (PEHP) 
       Michelle (801) 366-7472 (A-M) 
        Wendie  (801) 366-7325  (N-Z)  
 
 

o Discuss how remaining sick leave 

is used as a retirement benefit. 

o Discuss costs of post-retirement 

medical plans, including optional 

dental and vision. 

o Discuss coverage options 

available at end of sick leave 

benefit period. 

o Discuss Health Reimbursement 

Account (HRA) basic information. 

o Complete Medical/Dental 

enrollment form for 

post-retirement plans. 

o Complete Life Insurance 

enrollment form for potential 

State-paid basic life insurance. 

o Discuss potential additional life 

insurance options. 

o Complete Life Insurance 

enrollment form for optional 

additional life insurance.  

 
Social Security/Medicare 

 
If you are age 65 or older and retiring, 
you must be enrolled for Medicare A & 

B. Failure to enroll may result in 
financial penalties and cause problems 

with your PEHP Medicare 
Supplemental Coverage. 

 
(800) 772-1213 

www.ssa.gov/medicareonly 

 

http://www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/stepstoretire.pdf
http://www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/stepstoretire.pdf
http://www.ssa.gov/medicareonly

