
Employee Retirement Checklist 
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There are 3 entities that all State of Utah retirees must contact when they are ready to begin the retirement 

process. This checklist provides a brief overview of the steps a retiree will complete with each entity.  

A retiree may begin the retirement process 3 months prior to his/her desired retirement date. 

Utah Retirement Systems (URS) 
(801) 366-7770 
(800) 695-4877 

 
 
o Contact a Retirement Advisor and 

state your intention to retire and 
your retirement date 

o Confirm that you are eligible to 
retire at your intended time 

o Complete Application for Purchase 
of Future Service Credit (Section A), 
if applicable. 

o Submit Application for Purchase of 
Future Service Credit to ERIC for 
Part B completion. ERIC will return 
the completed form to you and to 
URS on your behalf. 

o Complete Retirement Application. 
o Submit required proof-of-age 

documentation and marriage 
certificate 

o Receive URS Monthly Benefit 
Estimate 

o Make decisions regarding Partial 
Lump-Sum Payment Options 
(PLSO), Retirement Payment 
Options, and Life Insurance 
Options. 

o Complete and return all applicable 
forms received in your brown URS 
folder. 

 
 
*A detailed list of forms and 
explanations of options can be found 
at 
www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/
stepstoretire.pdf 
 
 

Employee Resource Information 
Center (ERIC) 

(801) 538-3742 
employeegateway.utah.gov 

 
o Submit your request to be 

assigned to a Retirement 
Specialist. 

o You will be contacted by phone or 
email by your Specialist. The 
Specialist will gather information 
from you regarding your leave 
balances to prepare the most 
accurate leave benefits estimate 
possible.  

o Work with Specialist to 
understand annual 
payout/deferral options and 
benefits provided by sick leave.  

o Receive estimate worksheet from 
your Specialist. 

o Schedule appointment to meet 
with your Specialist to sign final 
documents (listed below). This 
meeting should be scheduled to 
take place no sooner than 30 days 
before your retirement date, and 
normally within your final 2 weeks 
of employment. 

 
Form Checklist 

 
o Retirement Worksheet  Part I 
o Retirement Worksheet Part II 
o URS Investment Contract (if 

applicable) 
o Leave Transfer Authorization (if 

applicable) 
o URS Employee Benefits 

Notification 
o PEHP Employee Benefits 

Notification 
 

Public Employee’s Health Plan (PEHP) 
Crystal (801) 366-7575 (A-G) 

          Kory    (801) 366-7588  (H-O) 
          Jessica (801) 366-7730 (P-Z)  
o Discuss how remaining sick leave 

is used as a retirement benefit. 
o Discuss costs of post-retirement 

medical plans, including optional 
dental and vision. 

o Discuss coverage options 
available at end of sick leave 
benefit period. 

o Discuss Health Reimbursement 
Account (HRA) basic information. 

o Complete Medical/Dental 
enrollment form for post-
retirement plans. 

o Complete Life Insurance 
enrollment form for potential 
State-paid basic life insurance. 

o Discuss potential additional life 
insurance options. 

o Complete Life Insurance 
enrollment form for optional 
additional life insurance.  

 
Social Security/Medicare 

 
If you are age 65 or older, you must be 
enrolled for Medicare A & B. Failure to 
enroll may result in financial penalties 
and cause problems with your PEHP 
Medicare Supplemental Coverage. 

 
(800) 772-1213 

www.ssa.gov/medicareonly 
 

http://www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/stepstoretire.pdf
http://www.urs.org/mango/pdf/urs/pension/stepstoretire.pdf
www.ssa.gov/medicareonly


   

 


