Skip to content
Secondary Menu »

2018 Governor’s Awards for Excellence

Governor Gary R. Herbert and Lieutenant Governor Spencer J. Cox presented twenty-seven awards to fourteen individuals and thirteen teams during the Governor’s Award for Excellence ceremony in the Capitol Rotunda on May 17, 2018.  The award recipients were selected by their respective agencies for their distinguished service and dedication to the citizens of Utah.

The Governor’s Award for Excellence are presented annually to recognize the contributions of state employees in the categories of energy and environment, heroism, humanitarianism, innovation and efficiency, leadership, and outstanding public service.

The recipients of the 2018 Governor’s Award for Excellence are:

Utah National Guard –Utah Army National Guard Aviation Detachment for Humanitarianism

Division of Human Resource Management –DHS HR Field Office for Innovation & Efficiency

Department of Public Safety –Operation Rio Grande DPS Team for Outstanding Public Service

Department of Technology Services – Operation Rio Grande Website & Application for Innovation & Efficiency

Department of Transportation –John Gleason for Outstanding Public Service

Department of Heritage & Arts –Change Leader Program Team for Leadership

Department of Corrections –Marc Miller and Seth Peterson for Heroism

Department of Human Services –Steven Parker for Humanitarianism

Financial Institutions –Eva Rees for Outstanding Public Service

Governor’s Office of Economic Development –Vicki Varela for Leadership

Department of Natural Resources –Fred Hayes for Outstanding Public Service

Science Technology & Research –USTAR Technology Tiger Team for Innovation & Efficiency

Governor’s Office of Energy –Michele Pasker for Leadership

Department of Administrative Services –Fleet Operations Vehicle Replacement Team for Energy & Environment

Board of Education –Scott Jones for Innovation & Efficiency

Department of Commerce –CSD (Controlled Substance Database) Patient Dashboard Project Team for Innovation & Efficiency

Department of Health –Dr. Wu Xu, Ph.D. for Outstanding Public Service

Department of Environmental Quality –Lead in Schools Team for Energy & Environment

Tax Commission –Lynn Solarczyk for Leadership

Utah School for the Deaf and Blind –Jared Felt for Leadership

Labor Commission –Paul Cannon for Leadership

School and Institution of Trust –Ryan Kulig for Innovation & Efficiency

Department of Agriculture and Food –Rick Beckstrand for Leadership

Alcoholic Beverage Control –DABC Employee Work Group for Leadership

Governor’s Office –Operation Rio Grande Team for Leadership

Department of Insurance –Tanji Northrup for Leadership

Department of Workforce Services –Operation Rio Grande Leadership Team for Leadership

Site SettingsSettings